Home » food » B is for Bison

B is for Bison

There’s lots to blog about, but I’m not ready to talk about all of it. Let’s keep it nice and light, shall we?

How about . . . bison? It’s nice and lean. This month, I was selected to do a bison promotion with the Allrecipes Allstars program. There were a lot of great recipes from which I could choose, but when I saw Stuffed Bison Burgers with Caramelized Figs and Shallots, I knew that it was the one for me. The Murse and I have pretty much never turned our noses up at a burger, good or bad, and this one just seemed like an experience that I didn’t want to pass up.

The Bison Council graciously provided the ground bison for the patties; it was delivered right to my doorstep packed in ice. I moved it to the freezer and awaited, impatiently, the perfect grilling day. I did have to make some variations to the recipe. I couldn’t find dried figs even though my grocery had two types of fresh ones. I ended up using brown turkey figs, which I guess are a bit less sweet than black mission ones. I simply skipped the simmering and went right to sauteing. Such a PRETTY sight in my skillet while it was cooking down.

Some stuffed burgers look really impressive when you slice them open, but these didn’t have such a dramatic effect. However, despite that, they were AMAZINGLY delicious. This recipe literally made me drool just reading it, and the finished product delivered everything I expected and more. Even though I forgot to add the egg to the bison mixture, they held up on the grill quite nicely

What was the best part? The Bison Council supergenerously sent twice as much meat as I needed to make my burgers — I STILL have bison in my freezer, even after scouring the bison recipes at Allrecipes.com and making Mexican Bison Bake with Cilantro-Lime Cream. This was also very good, even after skipping a night for leftovers. I am not a cilantro person, but I did make the cream sauce with some parsley to substitute, and it was REALLY good. Nice and cool, even though the casserole wasn’t super spicy.

bison_bake

I have to say, I really like how lean bison is. It is something that I’d like to eat more of in the future (even when my freezer is emptied of the current stock). Next up . . . T is for Turkey. Maybe followed by P is for Pumpkin. 🙂

Disclaimer

I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position), and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com.

Products received from advertisers are only used for experienced-based reviews on ilkaisha. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Sonja.

Leave a Reply

