Home » college » Piles of Paperwork

Piles of Paperwork

August has been a busy month!

Since my WGU degree plan was approved on July 8th, I have knocked out all 14 credits and moved 10 credits from next semester into the one in which I’m currently enrolled. Two of my classes were objective assessments, multiple-choice tests, and I knocked them out early. The three remaining classes required performance assessments. Performance assessments are designed to get a good look at how well you understand the content. In the case of these classes, I had to write four essay assignments and do a thesis research outline and oral (video recorded) presentation. Combined, I wrote 6957 words for those projects. I think that’s enough paperwork for now on the school front for now. I’m settling in for a nice easy review of contract law and more legal business stuff followed by a six-week consortium for my science class. That will put me at 24 credits completed with 11 weeks still left in my semester. I should be able to knock out Principles of Management for an additional four credits before the end of the year.

Can you possibly shake your stick at 28 credits for the price of $3035? I know my community college can’t. I feel like I pretty much never shut up about my schooling, so I’ll make an attempt to do so now.

Speaking of school, Archoo started Kindergarten this week. He’s loving it so far. His teacher is a young lady who I think he will love trying to impress. His classmates include the daughter of a former coworker of mine; Archoo has claimed her as his girlfriend. Here’s a picture the Murse took the first day of school at the bus stop.

archoo_bus
I was helping a girlfriend get her first child off to school that morning, so I had to miss the moment. Which is good. I probably would have had an emotional moment. Instead, I was busy playing with Kaeloo and her friends while Archoo’s best friend from preschool went to first-day Orientation with his mom. She demanded to raid their fridge for yogurt but was otherwise pretty good. Kae starts preschool next week, and I’m going to just love having a few hours of quiet time a couple times a week again.

The Murse and I used to sneak out for breakfast dates, which sounds weird if you’re not a parent, but if you are one, it likely doesn’t. There are some really good breakfast restaurants and coffee shops around, and, while I’m sure we’ll indulge from time to time, we have decided to use the time more constructively this school year. We’re going to sign up for gym memberships so that we can work out together while the kids are in school. I really feel better and have more energy in general when I work out, and I’m looking forward to doing it together rather than separately. It’s hard to be motivated by yourself sometimes, and I couldn’t think of a better partner for, well, anything. 🙂

Hey! Sign up for the A Thread of Grace Giveaway I’m hosting! There are, at the time of this posting, fewer than 50 entries, so your chances are good!

Leave a Reply

