Home » family » Happy Grilling Post

Happy Grilling Post

We went to Hershey Park today, taking advantage of our dual season passes that are good there and at Dutch Wonderland. I decided that it was too chilly to take our swimsuits, but I think it might have been nice to cool off. In retrospect, though, we wouldn’t have gotten that far. We arrived around 13:00:00, and we immediately hit the carousel for Kaeloo. We did some kiddie rides around the Founder’s Circle, and then we headed to the Reese’s Extreme Cup Challenge. The first few times that we rode it, Kae had no interest in participating. You use a little laser gun to shoot at targets, and you play against the group in the next car. Today, she got two hits, which I have to say is pretty good for a three-year-old tot. Archoo is getting progressively better, and we usually beat whatever poor family or group of friends is pitted against us.

We continued along the path of kiddie rides, but were rudely interrupted in our adventure. Archoo decided to unbuckle his seat belt and stand up while the Mini Pirate was still in motion. The ride operator was in hysterics (OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG), but we planned to give him a little lecture and continue our day. However, as Archer does, he was checking out everything around him instead of listening to said lecture. We left, and I reminded him that season tickets mean we don’t have to feel bad about taking him home after only 2 hours in the park.

I think I get it if you’ve gone just for the day, and you’ve spent $240 getting into an amusement park. You just don’t want your one rotten-acting child to ruin EVERYONE’S fun for the rest of the day. However, we have gone to the parks enough times to have already paid for our tickets. If the kids want to act out, we don’t have any qualms turning the car around and going home. . . especially if it’s freaking hot outside and we don’t have our bathing suits! Get me to the nearest air conditioner! Stat!

Usually when we go, we leave after our normal dinner time, so we stop to eat. Red Robin has become part of our Hershey routine, but we have to scale back on both calories and money. We decided to forgo the delicious burger mecca and go home and cook regardless of whether the kids got into trouble. As soon as I walked in the door, I sliced some onions, and simmered a package of bratwursts with them in beer: Yuengling Lager, of course. Please, I am a Pennsylvania girl: If it’s an everyday beer, It must be Yuengling. I went to start up the grill, and prepped my veggies.

I made Balsamic Grilled Zucchini, Beer Brats with Bavarian Sauerkraut, and Grilled Corn on the cob. So yummy! Archoo hated both of the veggies, and Kaeloo wanted to use a fork to select single kernels of corn after the Murse cut them off of her cob. Fun stuff. Bedtime was blissful when it came for the kids.

Note: I need to be on American Baking Competition. Archoo and I watched that before he got tucked in. I could win that one.

4 thoughts on “Happy Grilling Post

  1. I thought of you when I saw that show on the television lineup this evening.

    Kudos to you and the Murse for teaching the kiddos about consequences. Many other parents would have resorted to bribery in order to avoid leaving the park thereby inadvertently rewarding the inappropriate behavior.

    Your dinner sounds like it was perfect for the weather! Excuse me while I take a few moments to drool.

    xxoo

  2. Great blog Sonja!! lol, My youngest DS – child, now 18 yo, pulled that Cr@p at Seaworld when he was 3 ! Oh my Goodness! Ruined part of the trip but Legoland saved the rest of it. pphheeww. Dinner looks Delish, thanks for sharing:)

    • Things are really hit and miss with my daughter, who is now three. She has really good days, but there are some where she just wants to scream her face off. PS – I fixed your name 🙂

  3. Pingback: Three Decades Down | ilkaisha

Leave a Reply

