Home » baking » Simple & Crisp: Part Two / Chococlate Cherry Snow Cookies

Simple & Crisp: Part Two / Chococlate Cherry Snow Cookies

After yesterday’s delicious orange-gingerbread adventure, I really couldn’t wait to open another packet of Simple & Crisp products. Today, I selected the apple slices. A few of them were broken, so I ate a piece by itself. The flavor was so delicious, and I knew that I had made the right choices at the supermarket yesterday. Let me just tell you ahead of time that I completely forgot to take a closeup of this recipe — because I was too busy eating it to remember. The Murse didn’t quite like this one as much as yesterday’s, but it meant more for me, and I was totally fine with that.

I thinly sliced a red onion and sautéed it in butter over medium heat until it was nice and caramelized.  As this cooled slightly, I took the apple crisps and added a little schmear of neufchâtel cheese on top of each one. I didn’t bother trying to make the cheese look nice because the beautiful onion was going to be piled on top. I added a tiny basil leaf to each one to finish it.

This.
Was.
Amazing.

The onions were still warm, and that coupled with the cool cheese, the crispy apple and the bright green flavor of the basil leaf had me instantly hooked. SO delicious. OMG. There just weren’t enough in the sample package! I want to eat these every day. I wish Simple & Crisp was sold at a store near me. The nearest location I could hope to find them is the Whole Foods in Philadelphia. Such a bummer. . . Hopefully some of you readers will have better availability because, I’m telling you, these crisps are seriously delicious. GO GET SOME NOW! ROAR!

I also made cookies today. The last thing I need is a plate full of cookies, but I wanted to make something tasty. As an added bonus, I can give a nice big batch of these to Archoo’s daddy for Father’s Day when I pick the boy up tomorrow. I like those big snowball cookies with the cherries stuffed inside. I don’t eat them often, but when I do, it’s delicious! So, I decided to make a variation on these, adding in another of my favorite flavors. Surprise! I’m a woman that likes chocolate! Find my recipe for Chocolate Cherry Snow Cookies on Allrecipes.com.

cccookies
I made them with butter-flavored shortening. I usually don’t eat it, but I had some in my pantry that needed to be used up. Why do I have it in my pantry if I never eat it? Two words: Mrs. Sigg. If you are, like me, a strictly butter person, all it will take is ONE bite of Mrs. Sigg’s Peanut Butter Cookies to convince you that you do, in fact, eat butter-flavored shortening, and that you like it. A lot. As far as I’m concerned, whatever Mrs. Sigg says in a recipe goes. Of course, you’re free to use butter, and they may taste better than the batch I made, but let’s not judge each other for our choice of baking fats today, shall we?

Disclaimer

I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position), and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com.

Products received from advertisers are only used for experienced-based reviews on ilkaisha. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Sonja.

Leave a Reply

