Home » entertaining » Simple & Crisp: Part One

Simple & Crisp: Part One

orange1

I went shoe shopping today. I know what you might be thinking:“Hey, wait a second, ilkaisha. That’s a picture of a snack.” Well, dear reader, if you think I can’t segue from footwear into snack foods, prepare to be AMAZED. Let me start over . . .

Today, I went shoe shopping. I very rarely go shoe shopping, and I was delighted at the opportunity to sneak out while the Murse was restless, and I could leave Kaeloo in his care for an hour. I ended up purchasing a pair of Aerosoles pumps to wear on my birthday, which are super cute and comfy. Pictures after pedicure. Anyway, I was shopping at T.J. Maxx. I love that store. I needed shoes and a Father’s Day gift for the Murse, and I was hoping to find a little something inspirational in the specialty food section of the store.

Through the Allrecipes Allstar (brand ambassador) program, I was introduced to a brand called Simple & Crisp. They make all-natural, sustainable, organic gluten-free fruit chips, and they asked for us to sample the products in order to come up with unique pairings. I was sent Apple, Pear and Orange crisps, but they also come in Blood Orange. The geek inside of me was so excited to see their little hexagonal packaging, you have NO idea.

20130614_164932
I knew I was likely to find something different at T.J. Maxx that would make a great pairing, but I was kind of disappointed. I stood there looking at mango chutney and honey and tea, and I just walked away feeling slightly deflated. Fortunately, I had to check out to buy the shoes. I saw the perfect solution for one of my flavors in the cattle chute section in which T.J. Maxx makes you wait in line: GINGERBREAD! Nyåkers is a Swedish company that makes wafer-thin gingersnaps. Oh, it was on. Immediately, I knew just what to do.

I headed to the grocery store and picked up some vanilla Greek yogurt and some fresh basil, and I set to work assembling. I’m sure you don’t need a tutorial on it, but I took pictures anyway:

The yogurt was kind of a compromise of circumstance. If I lived closer to a specialty grocery, I may have reached for crème fraîche instead. Since I don’t (and since, even if I wanted to make my own, the grocery store doesn’t even have buttermilk so that I could do so), I considered what might have the same subtle bite and creaminess. Plain yogurt just didn’t seem right, but vanilla sounded good. And it tasted good.

One of my crisps had a seed in it, but I fished it out easily with a fork. I imagine that they’re harmless to eat, but I didn’t really feel like it. I loved these, though. They were beautiful enough to be passed around at a cocktail party (if I do say so myself), and they were the perfect balance of sweet, spicy, and tangy — not overly sweet. A diving pairing. I look forward with much anticipation the opening of the next two packages. I will blog about them as well.

Disclaimer

I am an Allrecipes Allstar Brand Ambassador (a voluntary position), and I’m not compensated for my work with Allrecipes.com.

Products received from advertisers are only used for experienced-based reviews on ilkaisha. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Sonja.

One thought on “Simple & Crisp: Part One

  1. Pingback: Simple & Crisp: Part Two / Chococlate Cherry Snow Cookies | ilkaisha

Leave a Reply

