Home » Entertainment » What was I thinking? (the blog renaming) I am ilkaisha.

What was I thinking? (the blog renaming) I am ilkaisha.

Before I get too far into the whole Sonjariffic thing, I’m going to put a stop to it: My internet alias has been ilkaisha for more than ten years now, and I think I’m sticking to it. If you do a Google search for the term “ilkaisha,” you will find TONS of stuff that relates back to me. My Twitter. My Pinterest. My Facebook page. Pages I don’t remember opening. Products I’ve reviewed. Photos of recipes that I’ve made and rated on Allrecipes.com. Pictures of me and my kids. Images of random people who I’m friends with. But they all come back to me in about three degrees of separation at the maximum.

Some of the things on the Google search are things that I am not particularly proud of, and I think that these things were part of the reason that I wanted to make a new name for myself on this blog. But, even though I’ve been a bit of a jerk at times in my life, and even though you can’t really ever erase anything that’s out there on the intertubes, I’m not parting with my handle. It’s mine, and Sonjariffic is one that actually belongs to a traveling photographer who has a Facebook page, a blog, and some other credentials to back her claim to the name up. I like the name ilkaisha, and before I typed it, no one ever had. So, I’m taking the good with the bad and claiming my rightful WordPress name and address today.

How does one come up with the name “ilkaisha?” Well, it’s simple. Picture your keyboard in your head. Now, picture your forehead connecting with said keyboard. We called it the keyboard headbang. It’s useful, when you’re a nerd like I am, for creating character names for online RPGs like those that I’ve been playing for the past 13 years of my life (OMG). And . . . you know . . . not just any RPG, we’re talking text-based, no graphics, full-on nerd RPGs. Think Sheldon Cooper:

Ilkaisha was an evil priestess of the elements on a game called Shattered Kingdoms, which is still a current vice of mine after all of these years. I’m actually playing it in another window while I type this up. I’m aware that, even among gamers, text-based games are a bit of a niche product, so I’ll skip boring you with details. It’s an amazingly huge immersive game in which you get to drive your own plot, like an interactive storybook. If you’re interested, you have the link there, and you can check it out on your own. That’s the end of my pitch. 🙂

Anyway, since I played her in about 2002, it’s been my go-to username. I have no idea why I didn’t just name my blog ilkaisha in the first place. My bad. I’m pushing the restart button now before I get a following that’s attached to Sonjariffic for whatever reason. I expect WordPress to catch up with my decision in the next day or two, so be on the lookout for a new title. 🙂

2 thoughts on “What was I thinking? (the blog renaming) I am ilkaisha.

Leave a Reply

